United States

Statues - Hither & Thither

Site Search:
Rapid City
South Dakota

St. Joseph Street / 5th Street
(NE corner)

James K. Polk

James Knox Polk
Pineville, North Carolina 1795 - Nashville, Tennessee 1849
11th president of the United States, 1845-1849


Rapid City /  James K. Polk   Rapid City /  James K. Polk


Bronze statue of Polk presented in a political tradition of the times, conducting a cracker-barrel session with local townsmen, often in the taverns and general stores. The banner on the barrel is the slogan for Polk's 1844 campaign "54° 40' or fight!"

Information Sign

Born         Died
1795         1849
james k. polk
11th President of the United States 1845-1849

A Gift to The City of Presidents
Mr. and Mrs. Arthur J. Ludwick
Lee Leuning & Sherri Treeby, Sculptors

City of Presidents

In the year 2000, Rapid City launched the City of Presidents project on the initiative of Don Perdue, former history teacher and a fan of art. The plan was to install the statues of all 40 past presidents on downtown street corners over a 10-year period, at the speed of four statues per year, to promote pride in the heritage of our country. The first year, the project began with the first two and the last two presidents: George Washington, John Adams, Ronald Reagan, and George H.W. Bush. (Clinton was still in office at the time). Every year after that, two presidents from the earlier years and two from the modern years were added. On 9 October 2010 the last statues of the past presidents were unveiled. These three, Chester Arthur, Bill Clinton and George W. Bush, should be placed on their corners later that month, however they were not placed yet on the 20th of October, when we were there, so these statues are missing on our site. Now that all past presidents are pictured, the pace will slow dramatically to include one president every four to eight years. Presidents will have a statue made after they have left office.

The sculptures were created by five South Dakota artists, Edward E. Hlavka (H), Lee Leuning & Sherri Treeby (LT), John Lopez (L), James Michael Maher (M), and James Van Nuys (VN). The design and critique of each of the presidents are in collaboration with the members of the foundation, and the other artists.

Click here for a interactive map with the locations of the statues.

Chronological list of the statues:

  1. George Washington (LT), John Adams (L), Ronald Reagan (M), George H. W. Bush (H)
  2. Thomas Jefferson (H), James Madison (LT), Gerald Ford (M), Jimmy Carter (L)
  3. James Monroe (LT), John Quincy Adams (L), Lyndon Johnson (M), Richard Nixon (H)
  4. Martin Van Buren (H), Andrew Jackson (M), Dwight Eisenhower (LT), John F. Kennedy (L)
  5. William H. Harrison (L), John Tyler (LT), Harry Truman (M)
  6. Calvin Coolidge (L), Herbert Hoover (M), James Polk (LT)
  7. Warren G. Harding (L), Woodrow Wilson (M), Zachary Taylor (LT), Franklin D. Roosevelt (H)
  8. Millard Fillmore (VN), Theodore Roosevelt (L), James Buchanan (LT), Franklin Pierce (VN), William Howard Taft (LT)
  9. U.S. Grant (L), Andrew Johnson (VN), William McKinley (LT), Grover Cleveland (M)
  10. Abraham Lincoln (M), Rutherford B. Hayes (LT), James Garfield (L) (?), Benjamin Harrison (L) (?)
  11. Chester Arthur (L), Bill Clinton, George W. Bush (M)
Chronological list of the presidents:
  1. George Washington, 1789-1797, by Leuning & Treeby, 2000
  2. John Adams, 1797-1801, by Lopez, 2000
  3. Thomas Jefferson, 1801-1809, by Hlavka, 2001
  4. James Madison, 1809-1817, by Leuning & Treeby, 2001
  5. James Monroe, 1817-1825, by Leuning & Treeby, 2002
  6. John Quincy Adams, 1825-1829, by Lopez, 2002
  7. Andrew Jackson, 1829-1837, by Maher, 2003
  8. Martin Van Buren, 1837-1841, by Hlavka, 2003
  9. William Henry Harrison, 1841, by Lopez, 2004
  10. John Tyler, 1841-1845, by Leuning & Treeby, 2004
  11. James Knox Polk, 1845-1849, by Leuning & Treeby, 2005
  12. Zachary Taylor, 1849-1850, by Leuning & Treeby, 2006
  13. Millard Fillmore, 1850-1853, by Van Nuys, 2007
  14. Franklin Pierce, 1853-1857, by Van Nuys, 2007
  15. James Buchanan, 1857-1861, by Leuning & Treeby, 2007
  16. Abraham Lincoln, 1861-1865, by Maher, 2009
  17. Andrew Johnson, 1865-1869, by Van Nuys, 2008
  18. Ulysses Simpson Grant, 1869-1877, by Lopez 2008
  19. Rutherford Birchard Hayes, 1877-1881, by Leuning & Treeby, 2009 ?
  20. James Abram Garfield, 1881, by Lopez, 2009 (?)
  21. Chester Alan Arthur, 1881-1885, by Lopez, 2010
  22. Grover Cleveland, 1885-1889, by Maher, 2008
  23. Benjamin Harrison, 1889-1893, by Lopez, 2009 (?)
  24. Grover Cleveland, 1893-1897, by Maher, 2008
  25. William McKinley, 1897-1901, by Leuning & Treeby, 2008
  26. Theodore Roosevelt, 1901-1909, by Lopez, 2007
  27. William Howard Taft, 1909-1913, by Leuning & Treeby, 2007
  28. Woodrow Wilson, 1913-1921, by Maher, 2006
  29. Warren Gamaliel Harding, 1921-1923, by Lopez, 2006
  30. Calvin Coolidge, 1923-1929, by Lopez, 2005
  31. Herbert Clark Hoover, 1929-1933, by Maher, 2005
  32. Franklin Delano Roosevelt, 1933-1945, by Hlavka, 2006
  33. Harry S. Truman, 1945-1953, by Maher, 2004
  34. Dwight David Eisenhower, 1953-1961, by Leuning & Treeby, 2003
  35. John Fitzgerald Kennedy, 1961-1963, by Lopez, 2003
  36. Lyndon Baines Johnson, 1963-1969, by Maher, 2002
  37. Richard Milhous Nixon, 1969-1974, by Hlavka, 2002
  38. Gerald Rudolph Ford, 1974-1977, by Maher, 2001
  39. James Earl Carter, Jr., 1977-1981, by Lopez, 2001
  40. Ronald Wilson Reagan, 1981-1989, by Maher, 2000
  41. George Herbert Walker Bush, 1989-1993, by Hlavka, 2000
  42. William Jefferson Clinton, 1993-2001, 2010
  43. George Walker Bush, 2001-2009, by Maher, 2010
  44. Barack Hussein Obama, 2009- (No statue yet)


Sources & Information


Locatie (N 44°4'47" - W 103°13'30") (Satellite view: Google Maps)

Item Code: ussd20; Photograph: 20 October 2010
Of each statue we made photos from various angles and also detail photos of the various texts.
If you want to use photos, please contact us via the contact form (in Dutch, English or German).
© Website and photos: René & Peter van der Krogt

Bronzefiguren Kaufen

Your banner here? Click for information.