Statues - Hither & Thither

Site Search:
Dublin - Baile Átha Cliath
Dublin - Baile Átha Cliath

St. Patrick's Close  
(St. Patrick's Cathedral - North Aisle)

John McNeill Boyd

Londonderry 1812 - harbour of Kingstown [Dun Laoghaire] 1861
Captain of HMS Ajax (1809) died in the "Boyd disaster" 1861
Thomas Farrell

Dublin - Baile Átha Cliath /  John McNeill Boyd   Dublin - Baile Átha Cliath /  John McNeill Boyd


Marble statue.


erected by the citizens of dublin,
to the memory of
captain h.m.s. ajax,
born at londonderry 1812,
and lost off the rocks at kingstown
feb 9th 1861, in attempting to save
the crew of the brig neptune.

safe from the rocks, whence swept thy manly form
the tides white rush, the stepping of the storm
borne with a public pomp, by just decree
heroic sailor! from that fatal sea.
a city vows this marble unto thee,
and here in this calm place, where never din
of earths great waterfloods shall enter in:
when to our human hearts two thoughts are given,
one, christs self-sacrifice, the other heaven:
here is it meet for grief and love to grave
the christ-taught bravery that died to savem
the life not lost, but found beneath the wave.

"all thy billows and thy waves passed
over me: yet i will look again toward
thy holy temple."


thos farrell r.h.a. | dublin, 1864

Statues in St. Patrick's Cathedral

"More than any other building in Ireland, Dublin's St. Patrick's Cathedral embodies the history and heritage of a nation and its people, from earliest times to the present day."
There are about 200 monuments in St Patrick's Cathedral, comprising everything from the big architectural monuments through brasses, marble statues, marble on the walls, and stained glass. On this website, we include the statues, busts and relief portraits.

Dublin - Baile Átha Cliath / Statues in St. Patrick's Cathedral


  1. Henry Richard Dawson (1792-1840), dean of St. Patrick's Cathedral.
  2. Gerald Fitzgibbon (1837-1909), dean of St. Patrick's Cathedral.
  3. The Marquess of Buckingham (1804-1876), grand master of the Knights of St. Patrick.
  4. James Whiteside (1804-1876), lawyer.
  5. John McNeill Boyd (1812-1861), sea captain.
  6. George Ogle (1742 - 1814), politician.
  1. Edward Marks (1782-1869), minor canon.
  2. William Lecky (1838-1903), historian.
  3. Erskine Childers (1905-1974), president.
  4. Jonathan Swift (1667-1745), satirist.

Dublin - Baile Átha Cliath / Statues in St. Patrick's Cathedral

Relief portraits

  1. Turlough O'Carolan (1670 - 1738), harper, composer and singer.
  2. Conolly Norman (1853 - 1908), physician.
  3. James Cooksey Culwick (1845 - 1907), musician.
  4. Douglas Hyde (1860 - 1949), scholar of the Irish language.
  5. Caesar Litton Falkiner (1863 - 1908), lawyer.

Dublin - Baile Átha Cliath / St. Patrick's Cathedral


Sources & Information


Location (N 53°20'22" - W 6°16'18")

Item Code: ie088; Photograph: 13 June 2014
Of each statue we made photos from various angles and also detail photos of the various texts.
If you want to use photos, please contact us via the contact form (in Dutch, English or German).
© Website and photos: René & Peter van der Krogt

Your banner here? Click for information.