Statues - Hither & Thither

Site Search:
Dublin - Baile Átha Cliath
Dublin - Baile Átha Cliath

St. Patrick's Close  
(St. Patrick's Cathedral - North Aisle)

Henry Richard Dawson

1792 - 1840
dean of St. Patrick's cathedral, 1828-1840
(The Peerage).
Edward H. Baily

Dublin - Baile Átha Cliath /  Henry Richard Dawson   Dublin - Baile Átha Cliath /  Henry Richard Dawson


Marble statue of Dawson sitting on a chair with a book on his lap.


to the memory
of the very reverend
dean and ordinary of st. patrick's.
this statue has been erected
by friends who loved and admired him.
as a minister of the church "his record is on high".
he faithfully testified the gospel of the grace of god,
"teaching and preaching jesus christ"
and he exhibited in a useful and devoted life
the practical influence of the truth he preached.
to his exertions the institutions of the deanery
for relief of the destitute and education of the young
owe their origin and prosperity;
and although the cultivation of the literature and antiquities
of his native country was a recreation,
yet his happiness was found in labours for the poor.

his mortal remains are deposited in this cathedral,
which he assited at his own expense
to beautify and adorn.

his spirit rests with the saviour he loved and glorified.

he died oct.r 24th 1840, aged 48 years.


E H BAILY, R.A. | sculp. london 1843

Statues in St. Patrick's Cathedral

"More than any other building in Ireland, Dublin's St. Patrick's Cathedral embodies the history and heritage of a nation and its people, from earliest times to the present day."
There are about 200 monuments in St Patrick's Cathedral, comprising everything from the big architectural monuments through brasses, marble statues, marble on the walls, and stained glass. On this website, we include the statues, busts and relief portraits.

Dublin - Baile Átha Cliath / Statues in St. Patrick's Cathedral


  1. Henry Richard Dawson (1792-1840), dean of St. Patrick's Cathedral.
  2. Gerald Fitzgibbon (1837-1909), dean of St. Patrick's Cathedral.
  3. The Marquess of Buckingham (1804-1876), grand master of the Knights of St. Patrick.
  4. James Whiteside (1804-1876), lawyer.
  5. John McNeill Boyd (1812-1861), sea captain.
  6. George Ogle (1742 - 1814), politician.
  1. Edward Marks (1782-1869), minor canon.
  2. William Lecky (1838-1903), historian.
  3. Erskine Childers (1905-1974), president.
  4. Jonathan Swift (1667-1745), satirist.

Dublin - Baile Átha Cliath / Statues in St. Patrick's Cathedral

Relief portraits

  1. Turlough O'Carolan (1670 - 1738), harper, composer and singer.
  2. Conolly Norman (1853 - 1908), physician.
  3. James Cooksey Culwick (1845 - 1907), musician.
  4. Douglas Hyde (1860 - 1949), scholar of the Irish language.
  5. Caesar Litton Falkiner (1863 - 1908), lawyer.

Dublin - Baile Átha Cliath / St. Patrick's Cathedral


Sources & Information


Location (N 53°20'22" - W 6°16'19")

Item Code: ie084; Photograph: 13 June 2014
Of each statue we made photos from various angles and also detail photos of the various texts.
If you want to use photos, please contact us via the contact form (in Dutch, English or German).
© Website and photos: René & Peter van der Krogt

Your banner here? Click for information.