United Kingdom

Statues - Hither & Thither

Site Search:

Greater London

Parliament Square (WC2)

Henry John Temple - Lord Palmerston

Henry John Temple, 3rd Viscount Palmerston
London 1784 - Brocket Hall, Hertfordshire 1865
British statesman who served twice as Prime Minister
Thomas Woolner
R. Masefield & Co. (London)

London /  Henry John Temple - Lord Palmerston   London /  Henry John Temple - Lord Palmerston


Bronze statue of Lord Palmerston in naturalistic pose with his hand held out as if in conversation.




t. woolner. r.a. sc. 1876
r. masefield & co.
Founders, chelsea

Parliament Square

On Parliament Square, Westminster, are 10 statues of British and some foreign politicians.
  1. Abraham Lincoln (1920)
  2. George Canning (1832, here 1949)
  3. Nelson Mandela (2007)
  4. Sir Robert Peel (1877)
  5. Benjamin Disraeli (1883)
  6. Edward Smith-Stanley (1874)
  7. Henry John Temple - Lord Palmerston (1876)
  8. Jan Smuts (1956)
  9. David Lloyd George (2007)
  10. Sir Winston Churchill (1973)
Click here for a interactive map with the locations of the sculptures.


Sources & Information


  • Country: Great Britain
  • Masefield & Co. (London), R.
  • Palmerston, Lord
  • Parliament Square
  • Politician/Statesman
  • Statue (man)
  • Temple, Henry John
  • Woolner, Thomas
  • Locatie (N 51°30'3" - W 0°7'37") (Satellite view: Google Maps)

    Item Code: gblo045; Photograph: 3 August 2014
    Of each statue we made photos from various angles and also detail photos of the various texts.
    If you want to use photos, please contact us via the contact form (in Dutch, English or German).
    © Website and photos: René & Peter van der Krogt

    Bronzefiguren Kaufen

    Your banner here? Click for information.