United Kingdom

Statues - Hither & Thither

Site Search:

Greater London

Parliament Square (WC2)

Nelson Mandela

Mvezo, Cape Province 1918 - Johannesburg 2013
Anti-apartheid activist, President of South Africa
Ian Walters

London /  Nelson Mandela   London /  Nelson Mandela


Bronze statue.





Unveiled 29 August 2007 by Prime Minister Gordon Brown. Westminster Council had earlier refused permission for placing the statue in Trafalgar Square adjacent to South Africa House. On a visit to London in 1961, Mandela had joked that one day his statue would replace that of Jan Smuts; they now both have statues in Parliament Square.

Parliament Square

On Parliament Square, Westminster, are 10 statues of British and some foreign politicians.
  1. Abraham Lincoln (1920)
  2. George Canning (1832, here 1949)
  3. Nelson Mandela (2007)
  4. Sir Robert Peel (1877)
  5. Benjamin Disraeli (1883)
  6. Edward Smith-Stanley (1874)
  7. Henry John Temple - Lord Palmerston (1876)
  8. Jan Smuts (1956)
  9. David Lloyd George (2007)
  10. Sir Winston Churchill (1973)
Click here for a interactive map with the locations of the sculptures.

Sources & Information


Location (N 51°30'1" - W 0°7'38")

Via the links below you can find the position:

The maps or satellite photos appear in a new window
OpenStreetMap map
Bing Maps map satellite hybrid
Google Maps map satellite hybrid
WikiMapia map

Item Code: gblo041; Photograph: 3 August 2014
Of each statue we made photos from various angles and also detail photos of the various texts.
If you want to use photos, please contact us via the contact form (in Dutch, English or German).
© Website and photos: René & Peter van der Krogt

Bronzefiguren Kaufen

Your banner here? Click for information.